Caryl Phillips Papers: 1940-2015 (bulk 1979-2015).


Title of collection or material

Caryl Phillips Papers: 1940-2015 (bulk 1979-2015).

Finding aid

Significant contributors

Creation dates

1940-2015 (bulk 1979-2015)

Source institution

General notes

The Caryl Phillips Papers consists of correspondence, writings, research files, business papers, computer disks, audio recordings and printed material created and accumulated by Caryl Phillips from circa 1979 until 2006, including some research material with earlier dates. Writings include drafts (autograph manuscripts, typescripts, printouts, and computer files) and other material related to all of his major works during this time period, including the plays Strange Fruit (1981), Where There is Darkness (1982), and The Shelter (1984), and the novels The Final Passage (1985), A State of Independence (1986), Higher Ground (1989), Cambridge (1991), Crossing the River (1993), The Nature of Blood (1997), A Distant Shore (2003), and Dancing in the Dark (2005). Writings also include drafts and other material related to articles, lectures, and reviews. Correspondence is chiefly professional in nature, and relates to writings, publishing, and other professional activities.

Content notes

Organized into three groupings: February 2000 Acquisition, September 2006 Acquisition, and February 2016 Acquisition.



94.51 linear feet (114 boxes) + 2 rolls


Call number


Item sets